Rob Drummond’s tfd blog – part two

Rob Drummond, illustration by Jesse Tise

Rob Drummond, illustration by Jesse Tise

I don’t sleep well. This is something I live with.

Don’t get me wrong, there are people with far worse problems and I wouldn’t even call it insomnia. But the fact remains. I don’t sleep well. Having spoken to many writers about this, it has become apparent, to my horror, that I am not unique. I think it has to do with the fact that when I am working on a concept or a play-script it simply will not leave me until I have every last word down on paper. Now, I would never dream of claiming that I work as hard as someone with a proper job, like a teacher or a nurse (you know a job that actually does some immediate good for the world), but I do work. And hard. It’s just not always obvious.

This morning I sat for about two hours in my little room, just thinking. I am working this week on a structure for Mr Write – something to hang my volunteer’s story upon, each night. For two hours I sat. Staring at my scribblings. But nothing came. Apart from the feelings that I was essentially stealing from the National Theatre of Scotland because they were paying me to sit and do nothing. (aside: just got the most incredible de ja vu.)

I should explain about my scribblings. If I have a thought or an idea I tend to either scribble it on a piece of paper or put it in my phone diary. Days later when I go back to it I often have no idea what it refers to.

A genuine plea: If anyone can shed any light on the phrase “pound a ring”, then please get in touch.

Anyway, I’m sitting. Thinking. Worrying. Maybe this is it. Maybe the well is finally dry. I’ve been pulling up half buckets for days now. Too many villagers. Only so much water to go around. And then, from no where. I have to write. And I do. Automatic writing. Rain Man. I’m seeing the project like Neo sees the Matrix. And in the next fifteen minutes I have solved my problem. Relief. A little pride (for which I scorn myself – it’s a play, not a formula for the dissolution of poverty). But most of all, relief. Four A3 (is that big or little? It’s meant to be big) pieces of paper bursting at the margins with lovely words.

I am lucky, so lucky, to be able to make a living this way. And any complaints I have about it are merely the necessary, self indulgent bleats of any and every human being, looking to be congratulated and reassured that what they do is meaningful. I am not unique. And that’s a good thing. We are all the same. We all worry. We all moan. I’m just lucky my problems are minuscule. And for this I am grateful.

Rob

This entry was posted in features, tfd and tagged , , , on by .

About National Theatre of Scotland

In its short life, the National Theatre of Scotland has already earned a significant national and international reputation for its daring and originality. The National Theatre of Scotland was established in 2006 and has created over 200 productions. Being a theatre without walls and building-free, the Company presents a wide variety of work that ranges from large-scale productions to projects tailored to the smallest performing spaces. In addition to conventional theatres, the Company has performed in airports, schools, tower blocks, community halls, ferries and forests. The National Theatre of Scotland creates much of its work in partnership with theatre-makers, companies, venues and participants across the globe. From extraordinary projects with schools and communities, to the ground-breaking online 5 Minute Theatre to landmark pieces such as The James Plays by Rona Munro - the National Theatre of Scotland’s aspiration is to tell the stories that need to be told and to take work to wherever audiences are to be found.

3 thoughts on “Rob Drummond’s tfd blog – part two

  1. Rebekah

    Dear rob,
    I went to see your show mr write with some people from my school on friday 11th may and i have one thing to say it was AWESOME!!!!!! im serious it was funny please write back id love to get some tips on my writing that i do at home sometimes
    Thanks :)

    Reply
    1. nationaltheatrescotland Post author

      Hi Rebekah! We’ve passed your kind words on to Rob. We’re sure he’ll be very pleased to know you enjoyed the show so much. Keep up with your writing – perhaps you’ll even let us put one of your plays on in the future!

      Reply
      1. Rebekah

        Thanks maybe one day u will be able to put one on for a play do u think rob has any tips for me to help my writing be better i would really appreciate it thanks :)

Leave a Reply

