Emerging Artist Amanda Monfrooe blogs

Amanda Monfrooe - photograph by Andy Buchanan

Amanda Monfrooe (photo by Andy Buchanan)

Bank of Scotland Emerging Artist Amanda Monfrooe reflects on her attachment with the National Theatre of Scotland and what 2012 holds in store .

Although this is the start of a new year and although I am approaching the end of my formal association with the National Theatre of Scotland, things have never been busier. In particular the first couple of months of 2012 are full to the brim with creative projects. Aside from my National Theatre of Scotland work I am writing for a collaborative project about the Enlightenment’s poster boy Jean-Jacques Rousseau and facilitating a project for Arika12, a well regarded festival of experimental visual, video and performance art. To reignite my National Theatre of Scotland work, I am also taking part in Emerge, an evening of performance pieces from the artists associated with the Bank of Scotland’s Emerging Artists and New Directors schemes. For this performance I am directing a ten minute section of my play “Dog Eat Dog.” And that’s just January and February!

But once the air clears after a mad few months what will 2012 hold? I took my year in attachment to the National Theatre of Scotland in 2011 as an opportunity to reflect, to practice slowly, investing my time and energy in new forms and unfamiliar ways. I was free of the urgent desire to produce a show because for the first time it didn’t feel utterly necessary. I was expanding my practice and that was more important than keeping myself in the limelight for the sake of it. But in the new year I am conscious that without the support of the National Theatre of Scotland it is important that I re-establish myself in the sector by producing.

In the last few months I have written two scripts that I look forward to developing and hopefully producing. But I am particularly excited about creating a new one-woman show, which I will develop in the final month of my attachment. I hope to realize the show later in 2012. I was never under the impression that my work during the attachment would lead to easy success after it wrapped up. I knew that the year was for my progress as an artist in whatever form that might take. And so I hope to take the contacts I have made during the year, with a new portfolio of work under my arm, and step back out on my own once more, but this time equipped with a sense of purpose about my practice that only patient reflection, trial and error, and the confidence of others can inspire.

Associate Director John Tiffany is curating Emerge, an evening of work from Emerging Artists and New Directors at the Citizens Theatre, Glasgow, on 26 January at 6pm.

Find out more about Emerge.

Emerge is a free but ticketed event. Tickets can be booked through the Citizens Theatre box office.

This entry was posted in features, News and tagged , , , on by .

About National Theatre of Scotland

All of Scotland is our stage. In our heart is an ambition to transform the world in dreams and drama, to make incredible things happen in unbelievable places. We’re where Scotland comes to play. We’re an ever-evolving family of play makers, theatre originals, maverick thinkers. We’re technically adventurous, fearlessly collaborative. We’re what our artists, performers and participants make us. And with no building of our own, we have the freedom to go where our audiences take us. There is no limit to what we believe theatre can be, no limit to the stories we are able to tell. All of Scotland is our stage, and on that stage we perform to the world. We are a theatre of the imagine: a Theatre Without Walls.

Leave a Reply

